Car accidents remain the most common type of auto accident. If motorists simply obeyed the rules and regulations of the road, they could have averted the majority of these accidents. If you or someone you know have sustained injuries in a car accident through no fault of your own, you may have a valid personal injury claim. But can you sue if an uninsured motorist has hit you in Maryland? For more information on that very subject, please continue reading, then contact one of our experienced car accident attorneys in Prince George’s County, Maryland today.
Can you sue an uninsured motorist for a car accident in Maryland?
A person will generally pursue a claim against the negligent party’s insurance company when they have sustained injuries due to the negligence of another motorist. Even so, you may be confused and unsure of how to proceed if you are injured in an accident by someone who does not have insurance. Thankfully, you should be covered if you have insurance. Maryland law requires all motorists to purchase uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury liability insurance that covers at least $30,00 in damages per person injured, with a cap of $60,000 per accident. You may choose to purchase coverage in amounts larger than this statutory minimum.
In addition, our firm is here to assist you if this coverage does not cover the entire cost of your injuries. One of our skilled Prince George’s County motor vehicle accident attorneys can file a claim against your insurance company and pursue the full compensation you deserve.
What can a Maryland car accident lawyer do to help you?
An experienced Prince George’s County car accident lawyer can gather and present all additional evidence needed to satisfy the burden of proof on your behalf. In many instances, our firm can subpoena security camera footage of the accident as it happened, which is one of the best ways to win a personal injury claim.
How long do you have to bring forward a personal injury claim against an uninsured motorist in Maryland?
Every state has a statute of limitations in place to regulate the amount of time an individual can wait after an accident to sue the party responsible. The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Maryland is, under most circumstances, three years, which means that you will, generally, have three years from the date of your accident to sue the liable motorist. Do not wait past the three-year mark, for if you do, you may permanently lose your right to sue. So, please do not hesitate to give our firm a call today.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED MARYLAND FIRM
If you are injured due to another party’s negligence, contact Timian & Fawcett, LLC. We provide effective legal services to clients in Prince George’s County, Washington, D.C., and all of Maryland.