×

Statutes of Limitations for Personal Injury in Maryland

Statutes of Limitations for Personal Injury in Maryland

The legal process can be intimidating to some who have never initiated a claim before. When a person becomes injured due to the negligence of another party, they may suffer from significant burdens that are both financial and nonfinancial in nature. The injured party may want to bring legal action against the liable party in an effort to hold them accountable for their negligence and to recover compensation. If an injured party does wish to do so, they must be sure to abide by the statutes of limitations that Maryland has put into place.

Statutes of limitations are simply a deadline by which an individual must bring their claim. This applies to a number of different types of legal matters, including personal injury related cases. In the state of Maryland, an injured party is required to bring their personal injury claim within 3 years from the date of the accident. This is also true for product liability cases. It is also important to note that for medical malpractices cases, the individual has either 3 years from the date that they discover the injury or within 5 years from the date of the injury.

If you have been injured in an accident due to the negligence of another party, contact our firm today.

Timian & Fawcett, LLC is proud to serve clients throughout Maryland and Washington D.C. when they need strong legal representation after being injured in an accident. If you are the victim of someone else’s negligence, contact our firm today to schedule a consultation with one of our experienced personal injury attorneys. 

Read Our Latest Blogs

  •  Are employers liable for workplace injuries?
  •  How can I benefit from a wrongful death claim?
  •  What does a premises liability lawsuit consist of?