It is an unfortunate fact that car accidents are quite common, with driver negligence being the root cause of many. Read on to understand the signs of driver negligence and to find out how an effective car accident attorney in Prince George’s County, Maryland at Timian & Fawcett, LLC can assist you in taking legal action to hold them accountable.
What are the most common causes of car accidents in Maryland?
All considered types of driver negligence, the most frequent causes of car accidents in the state of Maryland are as follows:
- Distracted driving, which includes using electronic devices without hands-free technology.
- Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- Driving while drowsy or fatigued.
- Reckless driving, which includes failure to yield, running stop signs or otherwise disregarding traffic signs, excessive speed, etc.
How do I prove negligence?
Driver negligence is not always the cause of an accident. That is, sometimes the cause is from weather or road conditions. So it is important to collect significant evidence to prove so, and your Prince George’s County personal injury attorney can help you build your claim from there.
What steps should I take after a car accident to collect significant evidence?
To strengthen your case against a negligent driver, follow the below steps:
- Call the police. They will conduct a police report and bring medical attention. Be sure to collect these documents afterward.
- Collect the personal information and insurance information of the person driving the vehicle. This should include their name, contact information, driver’s license number, insurance company name, and insurance policy number. Additionally, collect any witnesses’ contact information.
- Take photos and videos of the scene of the accident, including injuries and damages.
- Employ the assistance of an experienced Prince George’s County personal injury attorney to help you receive the compensation you require for your injury.
To avoid a hit-and-run charge, it is important to not leave the scene until after you exchange information with the other party and until you receive permission to leave from a present law enforcement officer.
What is the statute of limitations for car accident claims in Maryland?
For personal injury claims, the statute of limitations in Maryland is generally 3 years. This means from the date of your injury, you will have 3 years to file your claim.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED MARYLAND FIRM
If you are injured due to another party’s negligence, you must reach out to one of our knowledgeable attorneys. At Timian & Fawcett, LLC, we provide effective legal services to clients in Prince George’s County, Washington, D.C. and all of Maryland. Our firm is dedicated to assisting our clients. If you need our help, we are ready to serve. Contact Timian & Fawcett, LLC.