If you have been involved in a car accident as a passenger of a rideshare app such as Uber or Lyft, you are likely eligible to recover compensation. To learn more about filing a successful claim after a Uber/Lyft accident, continue reading, and reach out to our experienced Maryland personal injury attorney.
What are the most common causes of car accidents?
There are many factors that can lead to car accidents. This may include road and weather conditions or faulty car parts. However, the majority of car accidents are caused by driver negligence. The most common forms of driver negligence include the following:
- Distracted driving
- Drowsy driving
- Driving under the influence
- Failing to follow the rules of the road
If the car accident you were injured in was caused by your rideshare driver’s negligence, you likely have a valid personal injury claim.
What is the Uber/Lyft liability coverage system?
Uber/Lyft has a liability coverage system put into place to outline the financial assistance that the company will provide for those injured in an Uber/Lyft accident. The system is as follows:
- Period 0: If an Uber/Lyft driver has not logged into the rideshare app and is involved in an accident, this is considered Period 0. Period 0 does not provide coverage from Uber/Lyft.
- Period 1: If the Uber/Lyft driver is logged into the app without accepting a ride and is involved in an accident while they are logged into the app, this is considered Period 1. For Period 1, the rideshare company will provide liability coverage of up to $50,000 per person injured in the accident, $100,000 total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 property damage liability.
- Period 2: If the rideshare driver has accepted a trip, is en route to the passenger’s location, and is involved in an accident, this is considered Period 2. Uber/Lyft’s liability cover increases to $1 million for Period 2.
- Period 3: If the Uber/Lyft driver is driving with a passenger in the rideshare car and is involved in an accident, this is considered Period 3. Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage is up to $1 million as well as additional limited coverage for damage to the driver’s car and the uninsured motorists’ coverage for Period 3.
What is the statute of limitations for personal injury claims after an Uber/Lyft accident in Maryland?
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims is generally three years in Maryland. This means that you will need to file your claim within three years of the date of your Uber/Lyft accident.
Contact our experienced Maryland firm
If you are injured due to another party’s negligence, you must reach out to one of our knowledgeable attorneys. At Timian & Fawcett, LLC, we provide effective legal services to clients in Prince George’s County, Washington, D.C., and all of Maryland. Our firm is dedicated to assisting our clients. If you need our help, we are ready to serve. Contact Timian & Fawcett, LLC.